2.0 Production - Web Forms 3.5

Rating:        Based on 15 ratings
Reviewed:  8 reviews
Downloads: 89466
Released: Oct 3, 2009
Updated: Nov 5, 2009 by nberardi
Dev status: Stable Help Icon

Recommended Download

Source Code BeerHouse-VB-3.5.zip
source code, 13807K, uploaded Oct 3, 2009 - 40127 downloads

Other Available Downloads

Source Code BeerHouse-C-3.5.zip
source code, 8067K, uploaded Oct 3, 2009 - 27192 downloads
Source Code BeerHouse-db.zip
source code, 7090K, uploaded Oct 3, 2009 - 22147 downloads

Release Notes

Last Summer, around August 2008, I started work on my latest book and spent the next 5 months working on updates to the Beer House application. WROX asked me to write the book and only had 2 requirements: 1) Use Entity Framework 2) Add more AJAX to the application, focusing on ASP.NET AJAX. You can see a working version at http://beerhouse.extremewebworks.com/. A disclaimer on the C# version, I would call this release a Beta version. There are still a few kinks I am working out right now. I will be posting updates over the next few weeks to improve it. Also in IE 8 there is an issue with the login dialog that appeared over the summer. I have not been able to solve this yet and I have contacted some folks in MSFT for help.

New Features
Besides an entirely new data access methodology and more AJAX I added a few more modules and improved a few of the existing modules and added. One thing I tried to do was not stray too far from some things in the Beer House I felt would cause confusion or major changes for existing Beer House enthusiasts to absorb.

Entity Framework
One of the primary reasons for producing this new version was to use the new Entity Framework to manage access to the database. My approach to integrating EF was to build repositories and use Linq to Entities to compose queries. The book walks you through creating data models, extending entities and creating corresponding repositories to manage the queries.

Photo Gallery
Some of the new features to the Beer House include a Photo Gallery and Calendar of Events module. The Photo Gallery allows authenticated users to create new and manage existing photo albums. They can upload full-sized photos that will have display and thumbnail versions created at upload time. I also features a pretty neat lightbox based on the Prototype AJAX framework.

Calendar of Events
The Calendar of Events allows administrators to create new events, such as karaoke, game watching, live music, etc in the case of the Beer House. Events are displayed on an interactive calendar and visitors can open up a vCal to add the event to their personal calendar, such as Outlook.

Login – Now With OpenId!
As far as AJAX features, I added a Login Dialog feature to the application so a user can authenticate anywhere in the site without loosing their place. The Dialog is based on some simple AJAX and CSS manipulations. I also added a simple way to authenticate via OpenId to the Beer House.

Social Networking
Two new features were added to the Articles module to make it more social and secure. When articles are published they can now be automatically announced on Twitter. This will help the Beer House to be visible to its customers. I also update the article rating mechanism, as well as polling, to utilize the ASP.NET AJAX Rating Control, with Beer mugs no less!

Akismet
Another new feature is filter comments through Akismet. If you are not familiar with Akismet it is a comment filtering service managed by WordPress. Utilizing this service should help eliminate potential Comment Spam that is littering the Internet these days. I know I delete several hundred each week on this Blog.

Gravatar
Another new feature for article comments is integration of Gravatar support. A Gravater is simply a service that manages your personal avatar that is displayed in places like comments or user forums over the Internet. I like Gravatars because it helps me personalize (think branding) my comments across the Internet without having to manually add my pretty smile each and every time!

SEO
Finally a major new feature I included in the new version of the Beer House is better Search Engine Optimization (SEO) support. The new Beer House features a sound URL rewriting engine, as well as some onpage SEO features.

Reviews for this release

     
Why 3.5 version have so many error ??. I need 3.5 C# version. But I try to run version on this website and It has so many error. :(. Hope Admin repair and upload the standard version. Thanks.
by DUCVINH83 on Apr 24 at 9:58 AM
     
Not even compiling C# version. Can someone please help me to get the C# version for this project
by khanzzirfan786 on Apr 3 at 10:26 AM
     
Not even compiling...
by guidozanon on Feb 24 at 6:44 PM
     
what rating ?
by datamuni on Sep 27, 2011 at 9:04 PM
     
test the release
by tipo8x on Feb 26, 2011 at 8:08 PM
     
Very Good! Thanks! Lord Bless You!
by alicesun_xiaoyan on Jan 7, 2011 at 1:19 PM
     
study it 。
by huting0211 on Dec 18, 2009 at 11:21 AM
     
good development to 3.5 framework.
by loviji on Nov 3, 2009 at 8:42 PM